News stories

Celebrate your union pride!

Tickets to Teacher Union Day on Nov. 4 available online

Miller Photography There were many reasons to stand and cheer during last year’s Teacher Union Day celebration.

Nominate your school for a Kolodny Award

Is your UFT school chapter union proud?
Does it have 100 percent UFT membership and do your members contribute to the Committee on Political Education (COPE)?
If so, you and your fellow UFT members could be honored on Teacher Union Day with a Jules Kolodny Award.
Nominations must be submitted by Oct. 12, and winners will be recognized at the Nov. 4 event at the New York Hilton.
Fill out the form and nominate your school today.

UFT members have stood strong in the face of the Supreme Court verdict in the Janus case while showing the power of the union by winning paid parental leave for UFT-represented employees. Teacher Union Day on Sunday, Nov. 4, offers an opportunity to celebrate these recent accomplishments while remembering the brave educators who put everything on the line in the 1960 strike that provided the impetus that made the UFT the force it is today.

The event at the New York Hilton in Midtown Manhattan begins at 8 a.m. with a continental breakfast. The awards ceremony will be followed by a cocktail reception starting at noon. Tickets are $50. 

(You must be logged in to the UFT website to access the registration form.)

Carmen Alvarez, who served as vice president for special education from 1990 until her recent retirement, will receive the Charles Cogen Award, the highest honor the union gives to a member.

“Carmen is so deserving of this honor,” UFT President Michael Mulgrew said. “She has put advocating and working for children with disabilities at the top of her to-do list practically her entire life, while she’s also been a staunch advocate for the union and its work for students and members. It’s great to have this chance to say thank you.”

Union proud school chapters will receive the Jules Kolodny Award at this year’s event [see box at right about how to nominate your school].

Each year, the union bestows Ely Trachtenberg Awards on exemplary chapter leaders who have built strong and vibrant union chapters. This year, 52 chapter leaders will receive the honor.

The team of UFT members who spearheaded the paid parental leave campaign last spring will receive the David Wittes Award.

The Audrey Chason Award will go to New York State Teacher of the Year Alhassan Susso of the International Community HS in Mott Haven in the Bronx.

User login
Enter the email address you used to sign up at
If you don't have a profile, please sign up.
Forgot your password?