Skip to main content
Full Menu

Protest charter co-locations

A group of people standing on school steps holding signs
Erica Berger

Students, educators and other members of the school community protest a proposed Success Academy co-location at a rally at PS 203, on the Richard R. Green campus in the Bronx. Their voices were heard, and the proposal was withdrawn.

The charter lobby is flexing its muscles again. Eva Moskowitz, Success Academy’s rapacious chief executive, is trying to elbow her way into yet more district schools. Read the UFT's editorial on charter school co-locations.

Speak out at upcoming PEP meetings against Success Academy co-locations

UFT members, principals, politicians and public school families from District 11 in the northeast Bronx rallied outside the Richard R. Green Campus on Jan. 19 to protest the DOE’s proposal to co-locate a Success Academy charter school in a building that houses two middle schools. It’s among a number of angry protests by school communities this year against an effort by Eva Moskowitz and her Success Academy corporate charter school chain to elbow their way into school buildings in Brooklyn, Queens and the Bronx.

Members of the public are invited to comment before the citywide Panel on Educational Policy votes on these proposed co-locations. Show up early if you want to speak.

The PEP meeting on the Success Academy co-locations in the Bronx will be held at William Taft HS Educational Complex (240 East 172 St.) on Wednesday, Jan. 25 at 6 p.m. You can also join the meeting remotely.

The PEP meeting on the proposed Success Academy co-locations in southeastern Queens is scheduled at Long Island City HS (14-30 Broadway) on Tuesday, Jan, 24 at 6 p.m. You can also join the meeting remotely.

Email PEP members

Email members of the Panel for Educational Policy and ask them to vote against the proposed co-locations. You can find their contact information below.

Here's some suggested text for your email:

As a New York City public school educator, I urge you to vote against three proposed charter school co-locations, two in Queens and one in the Bronx.

The public schools being asked to suddenly share their buildings are vibrant school communities where every inch of space is being used to offer students in the buildings rich academic programs and needed services.

These are not "vacant" buildings.

If new charter schools are pushed into these spaces, current students stand to lose culinary, science, and music programs and to endure reduced time in common spaces such as libraries, cafeterias, and gymnasiums. Magnet grants these schools have won will be put at risk. The educational offerings and social-emotional support these schools offer will be put at risk.

I ask you to vote "no" to these proposed co-locations:

  • District 28, Queens: The Proposed Opening and Co-location of a New Success Academy Charter Elementary School (84QTBD) with Catherine & Count Basie Middle School 72 (28Q072), Redwood Middle School (28Q332), and P.S. Q993 (75Q993) in Building Q072 Beginning in the 2023-2024 School Year
  • District 29, Queens: The Proposed Opening and Co-location of a New Success Academy Charter Elementary School (84QTBD) with Queens Preparatory Academy (29Q248), Excelsior Preparatory High School (29Q265), George Washington Carver High School for the Sciences (29Q272), and Preparatory Academy for Writers: A College Board School (29Q283) in Building Q420 Beginning in the 2023-2024 School Year
  • District 11, Bronx: The Proposed Opening and Co-location of a New Success Academy Charter Elementary School (84XTBD) with North Bronx School of Empowerment (11X287) and Leaders of Tomorrow (11X370) in Building X113 Beginning in the 2023-2024 School Year
PEP Contact Information
Dr. Angela Green (Chair) agreen419@gmail.com
Alan Ong aong3@schools.nyc.gov
Gladys Ward gward7@schools.nyc.gov
Gregory Faulkner gregfaulkner1@gmail.com
Maisha Sapp msapp@schools.nyc.gov
Marjorie Dienstag mdienstag@schools.nyc.gov
Ruth Maria Kenley mkenley@schools.nyc.gov
Thomas Sheppard (CEC Presidents' Representative) tsheppard5@schools.nyc.gov
Geneal Chacon (Bronx Borough President Appointee) gchacon@schools.nyc.gov
Kaliris Salas-Ramirez (Manhattan Borough President Appointee) ksalasramirez@schools.nyc.gov
Tazin Azad (Brooklyn Borough President Appointee) tazad4@schools.nyc.gov
Sheree Gibson (Queens Borough President Appointee) sgibson11@schools.nyc.gov
Aaron Bogard (Staten Island Borough President Appointee) abogard@schools.nyc.gov