Skip to main content
Full Menu Close Menu

Monthly Meeting Schedule

We invite guest speakers to address topics of interest to capably disabled UFT members.

For all meetings:

  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Professional UFT staff members are available to answer your questions
  • The UFT will reimburse cab fare or parking fees for those who cannot take public transportation
  • Refreshments will be served; we welcome all UFT members

Meeting Schedule

Unless otherwise noted, all meetings are held on Thursdays in the UFT Safety & Health Department's conference room on the 15th floor at 52 Broadway. Meetings begin at 4:15 p.m. and end at 6 p.m.

We will hold our annual holiday dinner on a date to be announced and our end-of-term dinner will be held at the June meeting. For details on any of these special events and to register, please call 212-510-6389.

Note: You do not need to register for the anniversary meeting.

Past speakers include:

  • Gianna Ruddock, Program Director, UFT WF Health & Cancer Helpline
  • Chris Proctor, Industrial Hygienist, UFT Safety and Health Department
  • Hannah Rudstam, Senior Extension Faculty, Cornell University — ILR School, Employment and Disability Institute
  • Nina Levent, Associate Director and Joan Pursley, Editorial Director from Art Education for the Blind
  • Joan McCoy, UFT Pension Consultant
  • Bobbi Wailes, Director, Department of Programs & Services for People with Disabilities, Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts
  • Ms. Samantha Auslander, M.S., R.D., Cabrini Medical Center
  • Ms. Saga Graham, ATR, LCAT, Registered, Licensed and Certified Art Therapist, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
  • Shelia Friedman, Safety Coordinator, Manhattan UFT Borough Office
  • Heather Brady, Head of Education, Isamu Noguchi Garden Museum
  • David DePorte, President, Guide Dog Users of New York
  • William Brewton, Disability Coordinator/Equal Employment Opportunity Officer, New York City Department of Education
  • Claude Hersh, Esq., Senior Counsel, New York State United Teachers
  • Mr. Robert Burwick, Assistant Director of the UFT Welfare Fund
  • Mr. Evan Davis, former counsel to Governor Mario Cuomo, and specialist in conflict resolution
  • Mr. Steve Gappelberg, UFT Special Representative for Pension
  • Mr. Lou Cesario, Director of Visitor Services and Volunteers at the Brooklyn Botanic Garden
  • Ms. Kitty Williston, LCSW, Program Director, UFT Welfare Fund Health and Cancer Helpline
  • Mr. Joshua Gendel, Director of Assistive Technology Center, League for the Hard of Hearing
  • Ms. Shelia Friedman, Coordinator of Medical and Court Field Services of the UFT Victim Support Program
  • Ms. Andrea Haenlin Mott, Project Director, Northeast ADA and Information Technology Center, Cornell University Program on Employment and Disability
  • Mr. Terence Moakley, Associate Executive Director, Communications and Public Affairs, United Spinal Association (Formerly Eastern Paralyzed Veterans Association)
  • Mr. Ted Finkelstein, Director of Disability Access, New York City Commission on Human Rights
  • Judith Cohen, Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR) Program manager Federal Aviation Administration, Eastern Region
  • Bobbi Wailes, Director, Department of Programs and Services for People with Disabilities, Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts
  • Albert J. Kostelny Jr., Esq. Associate Attorney, New York State Division of Human Rights
  • Vernell Stokes, NYSUT Member Benefits Coordinator
  • Heather Blumberg, Communications Intern International Dyslexia Association
  • Yolanda Bonitch, Manhattan Borough, Outreach Specialist, New York Public Library
  • Ms. Shaleigh Tice, Coordinator of Education and Training From the New York Work Exchange
  • Ms. Cydney Strand, R.N., Clinical Educator, Center for Education, Lighthouse International
  • Ms. Roxie Marshall, Director of Policy Management and ADA Compliance, Mr. Carmelo Simeti, Director of ADA Compliance, Field Operations, and Ms. Carol Zwick, Customer Relations Officer, Para Transit Division, New York City Transit Authority
  • Ms. Paula Irby-Wynter, Regional Director, New York State Division of Human Rights
  • Patricia Crispino and Alan Ettman, HIV Resource Specialists at the United Federation of Teachers
  • The Honorable Betsy Gotbaum Public Advocate, City of New York
  • Ms. Joan McCoy, UFT Special Representative — Pension