Skip to main content
Full Menu
News Stories

Delegate Assembly approves six resolutions

New York Teacher

The Delegate Assembly passed a total of six resolutions during April and May at two regularly scheduled meetings and one special DA.

At the May 12 meeting, the delegates approved the following:

  • To endorse City Council Speaker Corey Johnson for New York City comptroller in the June 22 Democratic primary.
  • To endorse Jo Anne Simon for Brooklyn borough president and Dweynie Esther Paul-Dorsainvil for a position as judge on Brooklyn’s Surrogate Court.
  • To endorse Alvin Bragg for Manhattan district attorney.
  • To endorse Bill Perkins, Carmen De La Rosa, Julia Forman, and Selvena Brooks-Powers for City Council to represent districts 9, 10, 26 and 31, respectively.

At a special DA on April 20, the body voted to endorse Scott Stringer for mayor in the Democratic primary.

At the regularly scheduled meeting on April 14, the DA voted against a measure with a number of political endorsements lumped together, but approved a resolution to join with the UFT Pride Committee to commemorate World Aids Day each year in a respectful and dignified manner.

Read the complete resolutions »

Related Topics: Delegate Assembly