Skip to main content
Full Menu
News Stories

Mulgrew re-elected UFT president

Unity Caucus candidates capture remaining 11 officer positions
New York Teacher

American Arbitration Association staff count the UFT election ballots on April 1
Jonathan Fickies

American Arbitration Association staff count the UFT election ballots on April 17.

UFT President Michael Mulgrew

UFT President Michael Mulgrew

UFT members elected Michael Mulgrew to a fourth term as president of the union with 86.2 percent of the votes cast. The American Arbitration Association announced the tally on April 18.

Mulgrew, the Unity Caucus candidate, received 38,591 votes. Lydia Howrilka, the Solidarity Caucus candidate for president, garnered 3,604 votes, or 8 percent, while Dermott Myrie of the MORE Caucus received 2,540 votes, or 5.6 percent.

“I am honored to have the support of so many union members who have dedicated their working lives to helping the children and families of New York City,” Mulgrew said.

Mulgrew will begin serving his next term on July 1, when the new term begins for all the winners.

Also elected on the Mulgrew/Unity slate were: LeRoy Barr, secretary; Michael Sill, assistant secretary; Debra Penny, treasurer; Tom Brown, assistant treasurer; Karen Alford, vice president for elementary schools; Richard Mantell, vice president for middle schools; Janella Hinds, vice president for academic high schools; Sterling Roberson, vice president for career and technical education high schools; MaryJo Ginese, vice president for special education; Evelyn DeJesus, vice president for education; and Anne Goldman, vice president for members not employed by the New York City Department of Education.

Mulgrew became the vice president for career and technical education high schools in 2005 after more than 12 years in the classroom, five of those years as UFT chapter leader at William E. Grady Career and Technical Education HS in Brooklyn. In 2008, he became the UFT’s chief operating officer as well.

Mulgrew became the UFT’s fifth president on July 29, 2009, when he was unanimously elected by the union’s Executive Board to complete the final year of Randi Weingarten’s term. Weingarten stepped down to devote herself full time to her duties as president of the national American Federation of Teachers.

Eligible voters included teachers, paraprofessionals, school secretaries, occupational and physical therapists, school counselors, psychologists, social workers, administrative law judges, registered nurses and family child care providers, as well as other in-service and Retired Teachers Chapter members.

Related Topics: News Stories, UFT Elections