Skip to main content
Full Menu Close Menu
Union Resolutions

Resolution on City Council endorsements

Union Resolutions

Whereas, the UFT will endorse 15 NYC Council candidates in February 2021 after kicking off the 2021 local elections in New York City with 20 City Council endorsements in January 2021 following five initial City Council endorsements in 2020; and

Whereas, the 2021 local elections in New York City feature 13 incumbent City Council members and 38 vacant City Council offices due to term limits with over 300 candidates having filed to run for office and represent their communities; and

Whereas, City Council candidates seeking to represent City Council Districts 14, 16, 18, 22, 24, 29, 32, 34, 36, 38, 40, 42, 46, 48, 49 which will be vacant seats due to term limits, submitted our UFT City Council candidate questionnaire and participated in candidate interviews hosted by interview committees comprised of UFT members who work and live in the districts the candidates seek to represent; and

Whereas, Pierina Sanchez from District 14, Althea Stevens from District 16, Amanda Farias from District 18, Tiffany Caban from District 22, James Gennaro from District 24, Lynn Schulman from District 29, Michael Scala from District 32, Jennifer Gutierrez from District 34, Henry Butler from District 36, Alexa Aviles from District 38, Josue “Josh” Pierre from District 40, Nikki Lucas from District 42, Shirley Paul from District 46, UFT member Steven Saperstein from District 48, and Amoy Barnes from District 49 all demonstrated to their respective interview committees that they will be the best representatives for their districts, and pledge to support their local school communities and prioritize the needs of our union; and, be it

RESOLVED, that the UFT endorses Pierina Sanchez, Althea Stevens, Amanda Farias, Tiffany Caban, James Gennaro, Lynn Schulman, Michael Scala, Jennifer Gutierrez, Henry Butler, Alexa Aviles, Josue “Josh” Pierre, Nikki Lucas, Shirley Paul, UFT member Steven Saperstein, and Amoy Barnes to be the next City Council Members to represent their respective districts.

Related Topics: Political Action