Skip to main content
Full Menu

Si Beagle Learning Centers

Si Beagle

Si Beagle

The legacy of Si Beagle

Si Beagle was an extraordinary man. He began his teacher career in the New York City public school system in 1925 and helped build this great union.

When he retired in the late 1960’s, he felt that it was the union’s responsibility to provide educational programs for all retired members. With Al Shanker’s support, he initiated the RTC Learning Center.

Today 58,000 retired teachers are members of the United Federation of Teachers Welfare Fund Retiree Programs.

Read more about Si Beagle »

Bronx Learning Center
Elizabeth Harris, Cheryl Bing-Howard, Robert Fernandez, Coordinators
elizabeth.harris@uftwf.org | cbing@uft.org | rfernandez@uft.org
2500 Halsey Street

Bronx, NY 10461
718-862-6069 and 718-862-6004

Trip Coordinator: Cheryl Bing-Howard, Elizabeth Harris, Robert Fernandez
Theatre Coordinator: Cheryl Bing-Howard
Intersession Coordinator: Cheryl Bing-Howard
Dine Around: Cheryl Bing-Howard

Brooklyn Learning Center
Evelyn Dorell, Eurika Oliver, Cheryl Richardson, Coordinators
335 Adams Street, 24th Floor
Brooklyn, NY 11201
718-722-6961 and 718-722-6962

Trip Coordinator: Eurika Oliver
Intersession Coordinator: Kathleen Giannou (kathleen.giannou@uftwf.org)

Manhattan Learning Center
Carol Melucci and JoAnn Hauptman, William Richardson, Coordinators
carol.melucci@uftwf.org | joann.hauptman@uftwf.org
50 Broadway,
2nd Floor
New York, NY 10004
212-510-6478 and 212-510-6479

Trip Coordinator: Janice DeNave (cikids1@gmail.com)
Theatre Coordinator: Rose DeMarco
Intersession Coordinator: Joann Hauptman (joann.hauptman@uftwf.org)
Dine Around:  Rita Victor (blv1234@aol.com)

Queens Learning Center
Ray Taruskin, Margaret-Ann Stahl, Luchie Canlas, Laurie Kingsberry-Ford Coordinators
rtaruskin@uft.org | mstahl@uft.org
118-35 Queens Boulevard, 8th Floor
Forest Hills, NY 11374
718-830-5710 and 718-830-5711

Trip Coordinator: Ray Taruskin, Laurie Kingsberry-Ford and Margaret-Ann Stahl
Intersession Coordinator: Margaret-Ann Stahl

Staten Island Learning Center
Jeanne Casanovas, Margaret Munno and Audrey Zimring, Coordinators
jcasanovas@uft.org | pegsteriii@netzero.com | azimring@uft.org
4456 Amboy Road
Staten Island, NY 10312
718-605-1400

Trip Coordinator: Marion Mammana | maman823@aol.com
Intersession Coordinator: Jeanne Casanovas
Dine Around:  Robert Zuckerberg (zuckie15@aol.com)