Skip to main content
Full Menu
Around the UFT

Ely Trachtenberg Awards

Advocacy continues
New York Teacher
Ely Tracktenberg Erin Oates

Erin Oates (right, second from top), one of 28 Trachtenberg Award winners, is honored during the event. 

The UFT bestowed the Ely Trachtenberg Award on 28 exemplary chapter leaders in recognition of their service in the 2019–20 school year. The award, named for a teacher whose rank-and-file organizing skills were crucial to building the union, honors UFT chapters and their leaders who carry on that tradition with strong member engagement and advocacy. Ordinarily, Trachtenberg Awards are given at Teacher Union Day each November, when the UFT commemorates the 1960 strike that won collective bargaining rights for New York City teachers. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the union postponed its regular celebration but held a special virtual ceremony on Jan. 14 to recognize the chapter leaders. See the full list of honorees at